reviews

scroll down

September 2019

Sadick Cape Town

Based on our initial contact, the website and the reviews, we had high expectations going into the weekend… those high expectations were certainly met, and then some more! 

The location and house itself was simply stunning, while the ever friendly and helpful Chris added that extra spice!

August 2019

Valentina Rome

The Beach House is an accommodation with refined details with an unrivaled location.

August 2019

Nadia Paarl

Amazing place!

June 2019

Reenen Cape Town

Can’t fault anything. There were 9 of us staying for a long weekend. The home and facilities are exactly as displayed in the photos - contemporary and stylish, yet relaxed and perfect for a surf getaway at the sea. The kitchen and home is very well kitted out with everything we needed. The setting is simply stunning with miles of long flat beach for walking and great surf. Several toys (SUPs, surfboards, wetsuits, paddle skis etc.) were available for our use and this really added to our enjoyment. The weather really played along. Chris, the resident manager is wonderful - a real gem. Wish we could have stayed for longer. Hope to be back again. This place is 10/10.

April 2019

Family from Durban

Thank you so much for your kind gift package! We thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Beach House. We felt so spoilt and was definitely our best family break away so far! Your home is the next level! Every detail was thought through - wow!

April 2019

Family from Cape Town

Just wanted to say Thanks for all your help with our recent stay. My extended family now love The Beach House as much as we do, and Chris took great care of entire group as always. 

April 2019

Name withheld Frankfurt

a privilege to be here ! I have seen quite a few posh hotels and hideaways in my life, Caroline, your place is awesome !

March 2019

Gianna Hamburg

five plus
In 2006 I fell in love with this location when it was featured on the cover of my favorite interior magazine Living ETC.

13 years later.....I’m enjoying the beautiful Beach House having the most fabulous vacation with my family. Everything about this house is perfect - it is a magical place!

The house is filled with light, the view is stunning, the interior is handpicked and shows love and passion for beautiful design. The beds are comfy, the towels fluffy, the kitchen is so well equipped a chef would be delighted. During our stay Chris took very good care of us - he is truly amazing!

After an 8 nights stay there is still so much left to discover and enjoy: 

We will be back in March ’20. Can’t wait!!!!!

February 2019

Gabrielle Germany

we had a wonderful time in your beach house and everything was perfect! 

 

February 2019

Anna Cape Town

Paradise in a nutshell. Amazing place, amazing coffee, amazing beach.kids were thrilled, sealife stunning with dolphins swimming along our sUPs, sandcastles galore and great runs on the beach. Just perfect. Thank you caroline

December 2018

Name: Stasia

Thanks you so much we had a lovely stay and will be sorry to leave.

Thanks a mil for everything.

And there aren't words for Chris -

he is an absolute star and has contributed to making our stay even more amazing and unforgetabble!

 

November 2018

Name: Peter

what an amazing time we had –

we cannot thank you and Chris enough for making our stay incredible and very memorable.

We loved our stay it was utter heaven

November 2018

Name: Miranda

We have had the most amazing time here.

The whole family loved every minute!

The kids surfed with the Dolphins yesterday and they were blown away.

You have a very special home and spot here.

Chris is phenomenal and a true gentleman.

We hope to come back sometime soon

 

November 2018

Star Rating : five plus
Name : Sandra , Nina,Robbie  and Ster Wesdorp
Message : Thank you Caroline for making it possible for us to rent this wonderful place.

The design and layout of the house are perfect.

The view is amazing , we loved to sit for hours on the deck.

I made a walk on the beach every day and this certainly is the best house in the Bay. 
Our stay surpassed our ( high ) expectancy and Chris helped to make it as relaxed and comfortable as could be .

We felt at home and happy all the time, and will certainly come back !

November 2018

Name: Hans

Staying at Caroline's beautiful beach house was amazing.

Chris made us feel like VIP guests with his barista expertise.

Exactly what we expected and what we needed for a getaway from the city.

If you like to cook, the kitchen is fully stocked with everything you can imagine, including a refreshing sea view.

November 2018

Name: Rahel

Caroline's house is just perfect.

The house is very tastefully furnished.

It has everything you need and even more like table tennis, billiards, bicycles, surfboards, sups.

The location directly at the sea is magnificent and you can come to rest and relax.

That also thanks to Chris, who was always there and took care of everything.

Thanks a lot for great three days.

September 2018

Star Rating: 5 star
Name: Corlia
Message:  Was absolute perfection! It was a bit of heaven where time stood still and our souls truly came to rest.
Loved the way the home was designed, bringing the outside inside.

 

 

August 2018

Name: Lee

What a place. So tastefully done and well equipped. Highly recommended. We will definately be back!

May 2018

5 Star Rating
Name: Burhan 
We had a brilliant stay… the house is super well kitted, from kitchen to indoors and outdoors entertainment.

 Stunning views.  Very comfortable.  

Really no need to look for restaurants when you have such a nice spot.

Great for groups, we were 3 families with little kids.  Chris was very helpful.  

Definitely worth returning to!

 

April 2018

Name: Shane

Perfect! An amazing house in an incredible location. Perfect in every way.

Chris (housekeeper) could not have been more helpful.

We will be back!

 

March 2018

Name: Nicolene

We LOVED it at the Beach House and what a view!! Already planning our next stay. 

Thank you!

March 2018

Star Rating 5 
Name: The Roberts Family
Message 

We travel widely and enjoy visiting different places.

The Beach House is one of those rare gems. Somewhere so good that you cannot wait to return.

Caroline has thought of everything. The kitchen is fantastically well equipped and for the more active, t

here is a treasure trove of sports kit.

The sheltered pool is an oasis of tranquility. 

Some places are pretty inhospitable for young families,

even careful ones who are respectful of other people’s homes and possessions.

Not at the Beach House. Children are so well catered for that they don’t want to leave.

Caroline’s careful, thoughtful touches are everywhere, helping make it feel like a home from home.

The location is so naturally beautiful and rugged that you never want to tear yourself away.

We even managed to spot dolphins swimming close by. 

We must extend a huge thank you to Chris. He is a wonderful host, friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

He is helpful, knowledgeable and our toddler counts him as one of her best friends.

He also makes a mean coffee!

February 2018

Star Rating 5
Name: Erica Klocke and Andreas Gruetzner
Message: Beach House exceeded all our expectations.  Everything one needs for a beach break is provided including boogie boards and cycles.  Sweeping views of the sea and snow white dunes with patches of dune fynbos from the moment one enters the front door.  The perfect home for a family gathering or a group of friends.  Snooker table for the guys and loungers around the pool for the girls – the pool is perfectly sheltered from the afternoon West Coast wind, being in the central courtyard.  Lovely pure cotton bedlinen makes for a superb sleep for 10 adults  and all this overseen by Chris the houseman, who respects one’s need for privacy and yet is always at the ready to help.   Even in winter, this house would be very special as it has a beautiful fire place and of course very central to the Spring flowers of the West Coast.

January  2018

Name: Franz

Magnificent View ,the View is unbeatable, we had a lovely stay with our Friends - the House is great and the pool in the courtyard is a super idea. Chris is great - would love to come back one day.

November 2017

5 Star Rating 
Name: Sean wild
Message

We thoroughly enjoyed the 5 star plus accommodations.  The home hosted views that were BETTER than the listing pictures, and the real treasure was a gentlemen who came with the house named Chris.  He was thoughtful, attentive and so sincere in ensuring our trip was magnificent.  Highly recommend to anyone seeking a safe and one of a lifetime venture to the western cape of Africa.


 

October 2017

Name: Meandre from Namibia

Message

Thank you very much for our incredibly enjoyable stay at The Beach House.

You left no stone unturned to ensure a comfortable, luxurious break away from the city.

We had a wonderful time just relaxing and taking in the breathtaking view.

We shall definitely be back!

October 2017

Name: The Bleidenthals from Cape Town

Message

Super house and location , kid and adults all happy,

and with Chris there to help sort the house out we had the most relaxing time.

Amazing place, will be back!

 

June 2017

Name: Sean from Cape Town

Message

What an amazing place! We were so impressed with everything about it.

The location is second to none. Watch the sunset over the ocean from the living area

or the outside patio or take a walk down your private board walk and enjoy it from the beach.

The pool area is an awesome place to chill. The house is very spacious and comfortable with beautiful style and design.

The staff are amazing, they cover all the bases from making great coffee to stoking the fire in the evening.

Overall we had an amazing stay, we will definitely be back!

 

 

 

February 2017

Star Rating 5
Name: Nomonde
Message

We had an absolutely amazing time at The Beach House.

The only downside was that we did not stay long-enough to fully enjoy everything the property has to offer.

I hope to rectify this with a longer stay in the near future.

Thank you Caroline for a seamless booking experience and ensuring that we have a comfortable stay.

Definitely exceeded expectations.

Regards,
Nomonde

 

January 2017

Excellent

REVIEW BY CAROLINE VAN DER HOFSTADT (CAPE TOWN)

We had the most fabulous family time at the beach house! 

The house itself is just perfect with its wind protected pool,

a beautiful open living/dining room with amazing views to the ocean.

The kids loved the super sized bunk beds and little playroom.

the had a great time in the pool and on the beach right on our doorstep and to top it all up,

thank you Chris and Joyce, you were such great help and made it all feel so restful.

We will be back!

January 2017

Excellent

REVIEW BY WES FROM THE UK

What an incredible house: on a beautiful beach, amazing views, incredible layout and design that really helps you enjoy and relax.

Chris was an incredible add to the house and Caroline was super easy to communicate with etc.

If you want to enjoy the Western Cape in a stylish yet extremely relaxing spot this is the space!

Highly recommended. 


December 2016


Excellent

REVIEW BY VLOK FAMILY (TUSTIN, CALIFORNIA, USA)

What a beautiful time we had at The Beach House.

It really is such a great example of beautiful architecture and style.

The kids loved the swimming pool "inside" the house and Chris was just awesome.

He made the stay so effortless and we hardly noticed him as he went about his duties everyday.

We truly loved every minute of it,

have stayed in many rental homes across the globe (prefer homes rather than hotels),

but I must have to say that this was something we will remember forever. Thank you Caroline and Chris...

 

December 2016

Excellent

REVIEW BY WEYNE MUDDE (SOMERSET WEST)

Awesome location, world class facilities and looked after by Chris, who is second to none.
 

 

May 2016

Very Good

REVIEW BY JENNY WRIGHT (JOHANNESBURG)

Beautiful positon, well appointed. condusive to large family gatherings and fun

 

March 2016

Excellent

REVIEW BY VANESSA (CAPE TOWN)

We spent a fantastic long weekend at the Beach House -

amazing beach access and beautiful house with all the creature comforts we could wish for.

The houseman Chris was also a great help and made us feel very welcome and well looked after.

We hope to be back soon! 

 

March 2016

Excellent

REVIEW BY GABRIELLE WEINSTEIN (CAPE TOWN)

Fantastic house, perfect location and exceptional service. Would go back in a heartbeat! 

 

January 2016

Excellent

REVIEW BY LISA S (CAPE TOWN )

What an awesome house with direct access to the beach. Beautifully decorated with lots
of extras to make it easy to self cater. We enjoyed perfect mornings on the beach, canoed next to dolphins,

body boarded with seals, relaxed by the pool in afternoons when wind picked up and saw many gorgeous sunsets.

Left feeling so relaxed. Also big thanks to friendly Chris for the help. 

 

December 2015

Excellent

REVIEW BY GEMMA BARNETT (LONDON)

We had a wonderful trip to The Beach House and cannot wait to find a reason to return.

The house was so beautifully considered and comfortable - the little touches of hand made soaps,

high quality linens and the very well stocked kitchen that made self catering fun! 

Coming from winter in London the most memorable thing was the huge sky and wonderful view from the terrace.

Although there were other houses nearby we hardly saw anyone and

felt as if we were on a desert island with the whole beach to ourselves.

We are still recovering from seeing so many dolphins and the chance to swim with seals.

We didn't even feel the cold water it was so exciting. 
 

 

April 2015

Excellent

REVIEW BY PAM HOWIE (CAPE TOWN)

Our family had a memorable weekend at The Beach House.

The house is ideally designed, comfortable and so well equipped, in a magnificent setting.

Every detail has been thought of for relaxed, holiday living.

Chris added real luxury to the experience as he washed dishes and cleaned up -

he is such an asset to the house. 

 

March 2015

Excellent

REVIEW BY MARYNA STRACHAN (CAPE TOWN)

The Beach House is a stunning seaside retreat.

Beautiful bedrooms that are comfortable, plenty of space to relax,

both indoors and outdoors and all of the mod cons one could wish for.

If relaxing by the seaside is your requirement, then The Beach House ticks every single box. 

 

February 2015

Excellent

REVIEW BY SUSAN (UNITED KINGDOM)

Wonderfull stay, excellent location, beautiful home, incredible time.

Thank you so much. 

 

February 2015

Excellent

REVIEW BY CHRISTINA RANDELL (SOMERSET WEST)

We had such a great time at your fabulous Beach House.

It is the perfect getaway.

The openness of the well designed light-filled house immediately put us at ease and enabled us to

relax and enjoy the ambience of the amazing and ever changing beach and sea-scapes. Y

ou have here the perfect combination for a truly memorable holiday:

house designed for comfort and relaxation + magnificent setting + friendly,

helpful Chris who provides the right balance of support and distance.

Thank you for making available this truly amazing place.

 

February 2015

Excellent

REVIEW BY GINA FORSSMAN (JOHANNESBURG)

My entire family recently rented the Beach House for the weekend and we had the most incredible time.

The décor and layout are beyond gorgeous and the mood and vibe is one of complete and utter relaxation.

The house is designed is such a way that you can always escape the wind (not that we had any) and still have incredible views.

There are wonderful places to lie and read books, play games etc and still be part of the main house and kitchen.

Truly a unique experience enhanced by the setting sun every night over the sea and

Chris the houseman who is such a gem.

Thank you for an unforgettable experience.

 

May 2014

Excellent

REVIEW BY SANDY GEFFEN (CAPE TOWN)

Here is my feedback to Caroline Maritz to thank you for my magnificent stay at the Beach House.

It was just perfect and we loved every single minute. Nice and clean,

fresh and in a perfect position on the beach. I will be back.
All my love Sandy Geffen 

 

April 2014

Excellent

REVIEW BY DAVE (CAPE TOWN)

We brought some visitors from the US to The Beach House for the last leg on their SA trip and had the most amazing few days this April!

It was definitely one of the highlights! The house is stunning and extremely comfortable in every way, and the setting and view are magnificent!

We were very spoilt by Chris, the house manager, and had a really wonderful, relaxed and fun time!

Big thanks to you all for creating and sharing such a beautiful experience! 

 

March 2014

Excellent

REVIEW BY ELENA (CAPE TOWN)

Despite the chilly weather, we had a lovely weekend at the beach house.

The house is gorgeous and we enjoyed our time there thoroughly.

Dolphins swam by every morning as we drank our home-brewed cappuccinos.

And dinners were long and relaxed, with no dishes to clean up afterward!

 

March 2014

Excellent

REVIEW BY RIAN (CAPE TOWN VIA SEATTLE)

Book in advance because the word is out! This is one of the top homes to rent in South Africa.

Not only is the beauty of the ocean at your door step and the interior decor beyond your expectation you will also have

Chris the house manager making your stay comfortable and relaxing.

I would highly recommend this sought-after vacation home to any international traveler to complete their Cape Town experience. 

 

February 2014

Excellent

REVIEW BY DEWET FAMILY (DURBANVILLE)

A week's holiday in Britannia Bay? West Coast, freezing water, with 3 students-boys and a teenage daughter?

Not a good idea

How wrong I was! It turned out to be a fabulous holiday.

The ideal setting of Manie and Caroline's house on the beachfront at Britannia Bay was perfect.

The energetic four youngsters enthusiastically indulged in a variety of activities.

They braved the cold water in wet suits, rowed out to sea in the kayak, cajoled on the long stretch of sandy beach

and were even thrilled when the wind came up so that they could go kite surfing.

Afternoons were enjoyably spent in and around the 'indoors' swimming pool or reading and relaxing

on the many comfortable couches in the living areas, the T.V. room or on the deck,

or just enjoying the panoramic view and glorious sunsets.

Together quality family time was spent around the long wooden table in the kitchen/living area

enjoying scrumptious meals, endless cups of coffee brewed by Chris and playing challenging games till late at night.

Chris was a winner! He is a well-trained, polite Butler/House Manager. 

The week passed far too quickly leaving us with very happy memories of a

most enjoyable holiday spent at "the Beach House" in Britannia Bay.

 

December 2013

Excellent

REVIEW BY DENISE (JOHANNESBURG)

The beach house stay was incredible, the most amazing views, sunsets and beaches you could find in

SA right at the end of your own boardwalk directly onto the beach. Chris the house manager is so polite and makes the most wonderful coffee,

best way to start each day was with a coffee on the deck!

Thank you to the Maritz family for making this little corner of heaven available to us, your home is beautiful!

 

August 2013

Excellent

REVIEW BY BETH (LONDON)

We cannot come to South Africa without spending time at this amazing house every year.

To walk out of your bedroom straight onto the most incredible beach

is beyond anyone's wildest dreams, what a way to wake up every day.

Even in winter the days are warm and sunny, and we watched perfect sunsets every evening from the deck.

Surfing right on the doorstep,

life really does not get better than this.

 

May 2013

Excellent

REVIEW BY JUDD FRANCIS (CAPE TOWN)

We arrived in the middle of the night after work from Cape Town and

were welcomed to a blazing fire place in the most amazing space.

We woke up in the morning to find ourselves right on the beach,

basically in Heaven!! I can recommend

The Beach House to absolutely anyone and everyone,

Caroline and Marnie have built something special and we definitely be back...and the coffee is just as good!!!

 

April 2013

Excellent

REVIEW BY IVAN (STELLENBOSCH)

A beautiful, well appointed beach house - simultaneously luxurious and casual.

Miles of pristine beach at your doorstep.

Absolutely enchanting.

 

April 2013

Excellent

REVIEW BY ROBIN BROWN (CAPE TOWN)

A large group of my family visited from the UK and we spent 4 days in The Beach House.
For everyone, it was the best part of the holiday.
The Beach House has every mod-con you would need, and whilst there we saw dolphins every morning,

a couple of seals on the beach, and the sunsets are incredible.
We found the best part of staying at the Beach House was Chris - who was always available,

made great cappuccinos and put lanterns leading out to the beach at night; a great touch.
My favourite place in the Western Cape. Just Awesome.

 

April 2013

Excellent

REVIEW BY S VAN HEEREN (FRANSCHHOEK)

The Beach House has become one of our favourite weekend beach 'getaways'!

Everything one could wish for is available.

From the pristine beach to the fantastic coffee, it's the perfect luxury beach escape,

and we're looking forward to coming back!

 

February 2013

Excellent

REVIEW BY DENISE (LONDON)

A stay at the Beach House is an unforgettable experience.

Whether to explore the magnificent surrounds or simply relax by the pool or on the beach,

there is never a dull moment.

You couldn't be closer to the beach and the sound of gently crashing waves is so calming.

It has the perfect balance of luxury and rustic.

One of my favourite spots in the world, it has a special aura and is very good for the soul.

I can't wait to go back each time I visit SA. Well done to the owners for getting it spot on and Chris is a gem -

hard working so house is always pristine,

yet invisible when he needs to be.

 

December 2012

Excellent

REVIEW BY KIM (JOHANNESBURG)

This is THE House!!!!. A comfortable home with every comfort taken care of and every modern amenity at your fingertips,

inspired by a family for families. Perfect location, exquisite views, Chris the houseman aims to please.

We will most definitely go back!

 

August 2012

Excellent

REVIEW BY JANET VOGELPOEL (CAPE TOWN)

What can i say! We love this house! we have been back on 4 occasions.
Chris is a gem, the house is well appointed and who wouldn't love going to sleep to the sound of waves.
Waking up to coffee on the verandah overlooking the beach or lounging around the pool with a good mag and a glass

of something cold and pink! oh yes and walkies on the beach and surfing for the more active!. 

 

March 2012

Excellent

REVIEW BY JADEE FERNANDES (SEAPOINT, CAPE TOWN, WESTERN CAPE)

Firstly we must say a very big thank you to all involved at The Beach House to make it a stay we will never forget,

unbelievable memories were made that we will forever cherish.

We travel up the West Coast every few months and always rent homes along the beachfront,

but this time we were looking for not only a home bigger enough for all of us

but also an extra special getaway to celebrate our grans 80th birthday. 

We were a family of 10 adults and 3 children and we were all so happy we chose the most perfect location,

with more than enough space and hot water for everyone:) 

On arrival Chris is so welcoming and really goes out of his way to make your holiday all that more pleasant,

we are quite used to washing dishes & cleaning up but this magically got done after every meal,

which was something we rather enjoyed and which you don't often get when renting a self catering home on the west coast. 

The home is perfectly built for all types of weather, on the first day we all sat together in the relaxation lounge area

and this is were we spent our days happily reading and looking out for the dolphins. 
The indoor pool, snooker table and trampoline were all a hit with the young at heart. 
And when it was time for the rugby all the men filed into the TV room while the ladies lazed out on the deck

and beach only a few meters from the house.
When the sun began to set, Chris appeared with lanterns in hand and got the fireplace ready for our evenings dinner.

At night we lay watching the stars from our bed and listening to the waves crashing.

The Beach house really epitomises the word luxury and yet somehow encompasses all the elements

of a beach house which you would expect and more. 

We really can't wait to return. 

Thank you again to the best Beach House we have ever stayed in.

 

August 2011

Excellent

REVIEW BY GEORGIA LETSCHERT (CAPE TOWN)

It's hard to find a rental house that ticks all the boxes, and this one does... close to Cape Town, right on the beach,

with a swimming pool sheltered from the West Coast afternoon wind, beautifully styled, and big enough for a gang.

We loved the Beach House and would definitely recommend a stay.

 

February 2010

Excellent

REVIEW BY ZOE NIEUWSTADT (CAPE TOWN)

The best weekend away! 

We treated our family to a weekend at The Beach House and the memories we had there we can cherish forever!

This beautifully designed and decorated modern beach house has everything to make your stay unforgettable.

The views from the house are amazing as its right on the beach! 

The beach is great for leisurely long walks, kite surfing and surfing! 

Chris who makes the stay even more relaxing, whips up the best cappuccinos and there is no need to tidy up

or worry about the dishes as its all taken care of.

We had a fantastic time away and we will definitely be returning in the near future!